Be Wary Of The Deceivers! ESPECIALLY on eBay!
Posted on | March 15, 2008 | No Comments
I’m not going to lie… figuring out what to talk about today was damn hard. As I was closing tabs on Firefox, I saw one eBay auction for an LLLL.com that was pointed out on Namepros and thought “hrmmm… that would make a decent blog post for today!”
This is the story behind this eBay auction–COQL.com. If you take a look at the picture of the auction it looks like COQI but in a different font you can’t differentiate the upper case “i” with the lower case “L.” –> I vs l. Sort of hard DEPENDING on the font. Seems like the seller INTENTIONALLY made it like this to probably get people to bid on a VCVC.com (vowel-consonant-vowel-consonant).com domain
How can you tell this ISN’T COQI.com? Copy paste the title of the eBay auction post: “COQl.com – PREMIUM – 4 LLLL – 4 LETTER ,COM DOMAIN”
You end up getting forwarded to motivation-tips (dot) com. Now type in COQI.com and where do you go? Parked page.
RIDICULOUS! C’mon. The bidding is at $204.06. When I started the draft about this earlier today it was at around $128. People are actually falling for this. What sucks even more is that it says “8,400,000 hits for ‘COQ’” and no mention whatsoever about the hits for COQL… so people couldn’t do the search and POSSIBLY figure out the “fraud” in this. I blame this more on the seller than people who don’t do their research on domains. Honestly it wouldn’t have occurred to me to sit and type-in the domain with an L or an I then copy paste etc (I THINK) so what if a newbie domainer is on the scene and wants to pick up some domains from eBay? Yeah… that seems to be what is exactly going on:
Oh my God! I am so glad I read this post. I was just outbid and was about to make a substantial bid.
I was sure this was C O Q I . c o m !
A big “THANK YOU” to Nem0 at Namepros for bringing this issue up and giving me something to blog about. Posting this on Saturday morning (12:23AM) gets me sort of pissed since I tried to make it home and finish up the draft so it can be posted by Friday night but that didn’t work out that well. Still… a very decent and important blog post. So much crap going on in the domaining scene right now guys and gals. Be careful where you put your money these days.
Tags: coqi > coqi.com > coql > coql.com > domain auctions > domain scams > ebay auctions > ebay domain auctions > ebay scams
Comments
Leave a Reply